PDA

View Full Version : Seems too good to be true....


Pete.g
09-12-2005, 9:22 PM
...and if it does it usally is, what do you think?

http://cgi.ebay.co.uk/2002-AUDI-A4-1-9-Tdi-130SE-Metallic-Blue-52-Reg_W0QQitemZ4596624363QQcategoryZ9835QQrdZ1QQcmdZ ViewItem

Thanks,

Pete.

P.S would like a quick respone on this one before I possibly loose 4K.

tomstickland
09-12-2005, 9:31 PM
Does seem too good to be true, I've just checked the Parker's price guide and it says £9K for private poor condition.

Personally, I'd not buy unless I could go and view first.

Not as good as the BM option though, it's front wheel drive which is never going to give the driving satisfaction of rwd.

I just noticed, 0 feedback seller with hotmail address. I bet he won't be selling it for £4K?

Pete.g
09-12-2005, 9:34 PM
True Tom but 4K !!!!

Thanks for that mate.

tomstickland
09-12-2005, 9:44 PM
If it's too good to be true then it probably is, sadly.
If I bought a car via Ebay then I'd have to go and look at it before bidding, just to check out the seller.

vansboy
09-12-2005, 11:29 PM
Average price for this vehicle in auction, on checking the history of similar models sold, at this mileage, is a shade under £8000.

So guess you'd best start asking the seller questions!!

VB

Pete.g
10-12-2005, 7:49 AM
Not seen this scam before but thats defo what it is. This is an email I recieved:

Hello there,

I appreciate that you contacted me. First of all,
the car will be shipped from Torino, Italy where I`m
located due to my job. I have a car from my job to
drive here, so I can`t keep the Audi anymore, pay
insurance and all the associated taxes, as I have a 5
years contract here. It is very difficult for me to
drive a right-handed car in Europe, so I`m forced to
sell it, but my lost will be your gain.
There is no outstanding finance on the car. It has not
been stolen, has no damage, no scratches or dents, no
hidden defects. It is in immaculate condition,
meticulously maintained and hasn't been involved in
any accident. The motor runs awesome. The tires are
like new. The car meets United Kindom DOT and EPA
guidelines so there will be no problems regarding UK
Customs policy on receiving the car. The car comes
with log book, HPI cleared, it is free of encumbrances
and liens. You will get from me the keys and all
documents to register the car into your name.
Buy it now price is £4,000.00 with shipping/handling
included. If the car is not how I`ve described it, I
will offer a full refund, upon the return of the item
in original condition (return postage at my expense).
It will be insured during transportation and will be
delivered in front of your door.
The payment will be made through Ebay and only after
you will receive the car i will receive the payment.
If you agree with these terms, please email me your
full name and address and I will be more than glad to
start to complete the transaction with you.

Please respond quickly,

dbuk44
10-12-2005, 8:19 AM
Def. a scam.

Ebay was on BBC watchdog this week - one of the case stories they looked at was exactly this scenario (different car, but same story). Some poor chap lost 6k.

tomstickland
10-12-2005, 10:53 AM
How does the scam work though? Is the buyer expected to pay up front, because he's offering to send the car for free in the email? Or does he expect payment before starting the delivery process?

geo555
10-12-2005, 12:10 PM
How does the scam work though? Is the buyer expected to pay up front, because he's offering to send the car for free in the email? Or does he expect payment before starting the delivery process?


The car does NOT exist. People get excited thinking that they are getting a bargain. You pay for the car and get nothing in return.
As long as people are foolish enough to send money to a total stranger for a so called bargain, scams like this will continue.
A lot of the time, people are to embarrassed to tell anyone that they have been ripped off, so it doesn't get the publicity.

tomstickland
10-12-2005, 12:16 PM
Well,the old statement "if it seems too good to be true then it's too good to be true" seems apt.

scheming_gypsy
10-12-2005, 3:47 PM
and it's now an invalid link